Alldridge completes the double for the weekend in taking her fourth GB Indoor title

Amanda Alldridge completed a victorious weekend in taking her fourth British Indoor Title despite a tense, exciting and close battle with Olivia Ward. Ellie Jackson followed up her podium result in the Anglo Welsh race in taking third place with Charlotte Holmes and Shannon Potter rounding out the top five finishers.

Six hundredths separated Alldridge and Ward after the first run with Charlotte Holmes a further nine hundredths back. It was as tight as that down the Fraser Buchan set course. The next five racers, lead by Jackson, were within three tenths of each other. With Richard Breese setting the second run it was all to go for to decide the British Indoor title.

With the top ten about to start, it was Anna Kamaly-Asl that held the lead after having put down a much improved second run. Amy Stokoe could not better the time set by Kamaly-Asl and dropped into the place behind her. Maisie Jefferson and Isobel Brown then swapped places. Ciorstaidh Struthers then took the race lead with five to go with the fastest five still to go.

Potter was next down and she went into the lead before Jackson raised her game to go into the race lead. Holmes was unable to better Jackson’s time and slipped down a place.

After her stunning second run in the Anglo Welsh race, Ward was determined to do her best again. A new fastest time saw her push Jackson off the top step as she gave Alldridge something to aim for. Alldridge mentioned earlier in the season that she appreciates it when better racers take part as it makes her raise her game. Alldridge did just that on the second run. While she had a six hundredth advantage from the first run, Ward pulled a hundredth back. It was great racing to see.

A fourth GB title for Alldridge!

The age groups were won by Charlotte Holmes (Under 14, 4th overall), Maisie Jefferson (Under 16, 7th overall), Ellie Jackson (Under 18, 3rd Overall), Olivia Ward (Under 21, Runner Up) Amanada Alldridge (Senior, Race Winner) and Anna Dedecjus (Masters, 17th Overall).

Isabel Nowell took the Under 12 race win with Isabel Sadler taking the Under 10 title.

Pictures from the racing are available here

Full race results

about author