Bartlett and Pye top the results as Ambition racers top results

Honor Bartlett and Ryan Pye produced winning performances in taking the top place on the podium in the Children's Giant Slalom race at the Welsh Championships. Bartlett just held on to the win from her teammate Sophie Gibson, winning by just 0.01 seconds with Mathilda Watterson unable to hold her first run lead to drop to third. In the boys race Ryan Pye was fastest on both runs to lead Max Laughland home with Jack Spencer pushing Kayne Stanway off the podium for third place after a storming second run.

U14 racer, Mathilda Watterson, lead after the first run ahead of her older rivals with Bartlett and Gibson in close attendance. The next group of racers, a second back included Leane Francis, Lauren Bloom and Alessandra Mansfield. This meant three Under 14 racers battling it out with three Under 16 racers for the top honours in the overall race.

Gibson put her all into the second run to try and pull back the eleven hundredths that Bartlett held on her for the race to be best Under 16 racer. Having seen Watterson go down with the Under 14 racers, they knew she had had a good run but would it be good enough. Gibson, a year older than Bartlett, pulled back a tenth, to give the race win to Bartlett. Both of the under 16 racers were faster than Watterson who held on to win the Under 14 race ahead of Mansfield and Francis. Bloom took third in the Under 16 race and fourth overall.

In the boys race, Pye was fastest on both runs to finish 1.76 seconds ahead of the rest of the field. Max Laughland and Jack Spencer swapped positions after the first run, having only been separated by seven hundredths of a second after the first run. Kayne Stanway and Murdo Watson rounded out the top five finishers.

The boys Under 14 race was won by Eli Padoan who finished in 8th place overall. Dante Adam Vidri took second (13th overall) and Ian Menzies (15th overall) rounded out the Under 14 podium.

Being a BASS race, older racers were also taking part and William Munday took top place in the Under 21 race and Matthew Ingle rolling back the years to be the fastest Master. Karen Richardson-Scarfe took top honours in the Women's Masters race.

Female results

Male results

Action shots from the racing are available on

Do not forget you can subscribe to Racer Ready to read all the reports from races throughout the year for £20 or take the option with pictures (prices about to go up so you need to do this soon!) ..... and you could win a signed bib by GB World Cup racers Dave Ryding and Roy Steudle!

about author