Shiffrin wins Skieur d'Or 2019 as voted for by the AIJS members

For the second time in recent years, a majority of members of the AIJS decided to elect an American ski champion as recipient of the ‘Skieur d’Or - AIJS Serge Lang Trophy’ presented by AIJS President Patrick Lang at Soelden on Friday Oct.25th – 2019 in occasion of the “FIS Forum Alpinum” to USA’s wondergirl Mikaela Shiffrin.

The three-time overall World Cup champion and multiple gold medalist at Olympics and FIS events is collecting for the second time the esteemed crystal trophy created by Joska and handed over by FIS since her previous election back in 2017. In past years, two other US athletes, Lindsey Vonn back in 2009 and Bode Miller in 2005 were also elected ‘Skieur d’Or AIJS’ by a larger number of ski reporters covering the World Cup tour.

During the past six years, the charming 24-year-old athlete from Vail Valley, in Colorado amassed an impressive collection of crystal trophies, gold medals at major events and victories on the World Cup tour. As a reminder, she celebrated 17 victories last winter to become the only racer to have excelled in all alpine specialities including in parallel races. So far, she won an impressive total of 60 competitions since her maiden triumph at Are, in Sweden, in December 2012 as well as four consecutive FIS gold medals in slalom since 2013.

Members of the International Association of the Ski Journalists also awarded many votes to last year’s recipient Marcel Hirscher, while Alexis Pinturault, Dominik Paris, Henrik Kristoffersen or Sofia Goggia also received strong support.

“Mikaela, as well as Marcel Hirscher, were clearly close front runners in this year’s election - and of course both fully deserve it after all their amazing achievements during the past winter. They moved on the highest level during the entire last season and clearly dominated the rest of the field,” commented AIJS President Patrick Lang at the award ceremony at Soelden. “At the end, Mikaela passed Marcel by only a few votes in this year’s election despite the strong support expressed by the great majority of the Austrian members for Marcel Hirscher. Obviously, they wanted to congratulate him the last time his incredible career.”

“Mikaela is a very enjoyable interview partner for ski reporters who greatly appreciate her interesting answers on various subjects. She surely is doing a great job to promote our sport around the globe,” also said Patrick Lang in charge of the organization of the ‘Skieur d’Or’ award for over two decades now. “Everyone within the World Cup tour is impressed by her passion and her dedication for alpine ski racing. She works really very hard on and off the snowfields. There are only a few examples in the history of our sport of top-athletes ready to take risks competing in all specialities while shooting for the stars and become true skiing legends. She surely has much more to achieve in her mind. We all wish her great luck for another successful season this winter and more interesting stories with her.”

Winners of the AIJS Skieur d’Or – Serge Lang Trophy 2005-2018

2005 - B. Miller (USA) - 2006 - B. Raich (AUT) 2007 - A.L. Svindal (NOR) 2008 - M. Lanzinger (AUT) 2009 L. Vonn (USA) 2010 - C. Janka (SUI) 2011 - I. Kostelic (CRO) 2012 - M. Hirscher (AUT) 2013 - T. Maze (SLO) 2014 - A. Fenninger (AUT) 2015 A. Fenninger (AUT) & M. Hirscher (AUT) – 2016 & 2018 Marcel Hirscher.

about author